Wyoming is a US state. The main features of the landscape are the famous Rocky Mountains and Yellowstone National Park.

Wyoming is a state in the northwest of the United States of America. It is the poorest populous state and has the second lowest population density. In the southeast on the border with Colorado is the capital Cheyenne. The name of the state has its origins in the language of the Algonquin Indians. The German translation is “Great Plains”.

Wyoming’s origin

Numerous Indian tribes lived in Wyoming until the late 19th century. These included the Cheyenne, Arapaho, Lakota, and Bannock. Their lives became increasingly difficult as more and more whites came into the area from the east. From the end of the 17th century Wyoming was part of the French colony except for the southwest. In 1762 the Spaniards conquered the area and in 1800 the French came to power again. In 1803 the United States of America bought the territory for $ 15 million. The southwest belonged to Utah in the beginning.

White Americans and Their Actions in Wyoming

According to tradition, the American trapper John Colter was one of the first whites to travel to the Yellowstone National Park area in 1807. When he reported about the sight of the geysers, hardly anyone believed him. About 20 years later, the explorer Jim Bridger reached the South Pass on the way over the Rocky Mountains. This route became part of the Oregon Trail, which was the main route west for many whites. A large number of forts were built in the following years. In the late 19th century, Wyoming was connected to the railroad. On July 25, 1868, the Wyoming Territory was finally established.

Introduction of women’s suffrage and the first national park in Wyoming

While neighboring states saw their populations rise thanks to the discovery of precious metals such as gold and silver, Wyoming did not. In 1869 Wyoming was the first territory to introduce women’s suffrage. In 1872, Yellowstone National Park was opened as the first national park in the world. A war between Indians and whites shaped the events in the 19th century. In the end, all the Indians lived on reservations. On July 10, 1890, Wyoming was finally accepted into the USA.

Wyoming State Bird and Flower

Largest Counties in Wyoming by Area

According to Countryaah, the biggest counties in Wyoming are listed as below:

Ranking County Area
1 Sweetwater County 27,003 km2
2 Fremont County 23,784 km2
3 Carbon County 20,453 km2
4 Park County 17,982 km2
5 Natrona County 13,831 km2
6 Sublette County 12,644 km2
7 Campbell County 12,424 km2
8 Albany County 11,070 km2
9 Converse County 11,020 km2
10 Johnson County 10,790 km2
11 Lincoln County 10,539 km2
12 Teton County 10,381 km2
13 Big Horn County 8,125 km2
14 Crook County 7,405 km2
15 Laramie County 6,957 km2
16 Niobrara County 6,801 km2
17 Sheridan County 6,535 km2
18 Weston County 6,211 km2
19 Washakie County 5,802 km2
20 Goshen County 5,763 km2
21 Platte County 5,400 km2
22 Uinta County 5,392 km2
23 Hot Springs County 5,190 km2