Utah, home to approximately 3.1 million people, is also known as “Beehive State”. Salt Lake City in northern Utah is the capital and largest city.

In the west of the USA lies the state of Utah, which measures almost 220,000 km² – making it one of the 13 largest states in the United States. About 3.1 million people live in Utah. Utah is surrounded by the six US states of Colorado, Idaho, Wyoming, Arizona, Nevada and New Mexico. The region’s common nickname is The Beehive State, derived from the Mormon beehive symbol. More than half of Utah’s population is Mormon. The capital is Salt Lake City, which was founded in 1847 and has a population of around 186,000. The four states of Utah, Colorado, Arizona and New Mexico meet at the Four Corners Monument in southeastern Utah. It is the only place in the United States where four US states directly meet.

Utah – History of Beehive State

The Navajo, Goshute, Shohonen, Paiuite and Ute are historically native tribes of indigenous people in Utah. Southern Utah was explored by the explorer Francisco Vásquez de Coronado as early as 1540, and around 1776 the so-called Escalante-Dominguez Expedition led deep into what is now Utah. But it was not until the early 19th century that fur traders in particular discovered the region as a route. Finally, in 1896, Utah was named the 45th US state. Due to the dry landscapes, agriculture in the classic sense is only possible to a limited extent in Utah; instead, livestock, mining and tourism are now central economic factors for the western US state.

Utah – largest cities and national parks

Utah’s largest city is its capital, Salt Lake City. Salt Lake City is the so-called center of the Industrial Banks in the USA, the big event in the region was the Winter Olympics of 2002. Utah is also known for the five national parks called “Mighty Five” in the state, including Zion National Park and Canyonlands National Park, Arches National Park, Capitol Reef National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park.

Utah State Bird and Flower

Largest Counties in Utah by Area

According to Countryaah, the biggest counties in Utah are listed as below:

Ranking County Area
1 San Juan County 20,254 km2
2 Tooele County 17,977 km2
3 Millard County 17,021 km2
4 Box Elder County 14,882 km2
5 Garfield County 13,403 km2
6 Uintah County 11,603 km2
7 Emery County 11,557 km2
8 Kane County 10,334 km2
9 Grand County 9,510 km2
10 Juab County 8,785 km2
11 Iron County 8,539 km2
12 Duchesne County 8,394 km2
13 Beaver County 6,708 km2
14 Wayne County 6,374 km2
15 Washington County 6,283 km2
16 Utah County 5,188 km2
17 Sevier County 4,949 km2
18 Summit County 4,848 km2
19 Sanpete County 4,118 km2
20 Carbon County 3,828 km2
21 Wasatch County 3,046 km2
22 Cache County 3,017 km2
23 Rich County 2,665 km2
24 Piute County 1,963 km2
25 Salt Lake County 1,922 km2
26 Daggett County 1,805 km2
27 Morgan County 1,577 km2
28 Weber County 1,492 km2
29 Davis County 774 km2