Tennessee is a state in the eastern United States of America. It is also known as the Volunteer State. The capital is Nashville.

Tennessee is a state in the United States of America. Its capital is Nashville. The name comes from an Indian language and is derived from the Indian settlement of Tanasi. Tennessee is also known as the Volunteer State. Many citizens of the state volunteered for their country in the British-American War.

Tennessee and its native people

The Spanish explorer Hernando de Soto stayed in the area east of the Mississippi River, which also includes Tennessee, from 1539 to 1543. In the 18th century, the territory was exclusively inhabited by the Cherokee tribe. When the first colonists from Europe moved to Tennessee, the aborigines were pushed out of their homes and had to relocate to the west or south. Before the state was established, the region was under the administration of North Carolina. The official name at that time was Southwest Territory.

Tennessee between the Confederates and the United States of America

In 1784 the state of Franklin was founded in East Tennessee, which only existed until 1788 and then came back under the administration of North Carolina. Tennessee joined the United States of America on June 1, 1796. In 1838 and 1839 the rest of the Cherokee were deported to Arkansas. On June 8, 1861, Tennessee broke away from the Union and joined the Confederate States of America the following month. After the end of the civil war, a new constitution came into force in 1865, which included the abolition of slavery, among other things. Tennessee rejoined the United States on July 24, 1866.

Economic recovery in Tennessee and role in the civil rights movement

Economic growth shaped the situation in Tennessee in the 20th century. The state developed into one of the most important industrial locations in the USA, which it owed mainly to the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. In the course of the civil rights movement in the 1960s and 1970s, Tennessee belonged to the conservative states and did not repeal the ban on mixed marriages until 1967 under duress.

Tennessee State Bird and Flower

Largest Counties in Tennessee by Area

According to Countryaah, the biggest counties in Tennessee are listed as below:

Ranking County Area
1 Shelby County 1,955 km2
2 Wayne County 1,901 km2
3 Fayette County 1,826 km2
4 Cumberland County 1,766 km2
5 Hardeman County 1,730 km2
6 Monroe County 1,645 km2
7 Greene County 1,611 km2
8 Rutherford County 1,603 km2
9 Lawrence County 1,598 km2
10 Hickman County 1,588 km2
11 Maury County 1,588 km2
12 Giles County 1,582 km2
13 Gibson County 1,562 km2
14 Carroll County 1,551 km2
15 Sevier County 1,533 km2
16 Williamson County 1,507 km2
17 Weakley County 1,502 km2
18 Hardin County 1,497 km2
19 Wilson County 1,479 km2
20 Lincoln County 1,476 km2
21 Henry County 1,456 km2
22 McNairy County 1,450 km2
23 Blount County 1,448 km2
24 Madison County 1,443 km2
25 Franklin County 1,432 km2
26 Obion County 1,412 km2
27 Hamilton County 1,406 km2
28 Montgomery County 1,396 km2
29 Haywood County 1,380 km2
30 Humphreys County 1,378 km2
31 Scott County 1,378 km2
32 Sumner County 1,370 km2
33 Morgan County 1,352 km2
34 Henderson County 1,347 km2
35 Dyer County 1,321 km2
36 Knox County 1,318 km2
37 Davidson County 1,300 km2
38 Marion County 1,295 km2
39 Fentress County 1,292 km2
40 Dickson County 1,269 km2
41 Hawkins County 1,261 km2
42 Campbell County 1,243 km2
43 Robertson County 1,235 km2
44 Bedford County 1,228 km2
45 Lauderdale County 1,217 km2
46 Tipton County 1,189 km2
47 Stewart County 1,186 km2
48 Polk County 1,127 km2
49 Claiborne County 1,124 km2
50 Cocke County 1,124 km2
51 Overton County 1,121 km2
52 Warren County 1,121 km2
53 McMinn County 1,114 km2
54 Coffee County 1,111 km2
55 Perry County 1,075 km2
56 Sullivan County 1,070 km2
57 Bledsoe County 1,052 km2
58 Putnam County 1,039 km2
59 Benton County 1,020 km2
60 White County 976 km2
61 Marshall County 971 km2
62 Grundy County 935 km2
63 Roane County 935 km2
64 Carter County 883 km2
65 Anderson County 875 km2
66 Decatur County 862 km2
67 Bradley County 852 km2
68 Washington County 844 km2
69 Rhea County 818 km2
70 Smith County 813 km2
71 Jackson County 800 km2
72 Macon County 795 km2
73 DeKalb County 787 km2
74 Cheatham County 785 km2
75 Johnson County 774 km2
76 Chester County 749 km2
77 Lewis County 730 km2
78 Grainger County 725 km2
79 Jefferson County 710 km2
80 Cannon County 689 km2
81 Sequatchie County 689 km2
82 Crockett County 686 km2
83 Van Buren County 640 km2
84 Clay County 611 km2
85 Loudon County 593 km2
86 Union County 580 km2
87 Hancock County 575 km2
88 Houston County 518 km2
89 Meigs County 505 km2
90 Unicoi County 482 km2
91 Lake County 422 km2
92 Pickett County 422 km2
93 Hamblen County 417 km2
94 Moore County 334 km2
95 Trousdale County 295 km2

Tennessee Landmarks

Tennessee Aquarium

The Tennessee Aquarium is located in Chattanooga and is the largest freshwater marine aquarium in the world. It is housed in the River Journey building and opened in 1992. More than 12,000 animals, including numerous species of fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, penguins, butterflies and invertebrates, live here. Visitors have the opportunity to get to know the animals living there in various themed areas and to explore the underwater world.

Tennessee State Museum

The “Tennessee State Museum” is a huge museum building in Nashville that shows the history of the state of Tennessee in extensive exhibitions. It was opened in 1937 and documents the history from prehistoric colonization to the 20th century. It also provides insights into the American Civil War as well as the time of the Wild West and the presidency of Andrew Jackson. In addition, the “Tennessee State Museum” shows a wide range of collections of uniforms, weapons and war flags. The museum’s collection also includes paintings, silverware, weapons, furnishings and a replica of an old flour mill. Part of the museum is the smaller “Military Museum”, which shows Tennessee’s involvement in military conflicts.

Tennessee State Capitol

The Tennessee State Capitol is the seat of the legislature and is located in Nashville. It was built from 1845 to 1859 in the Greek Revival style and impresses with its beautiful facade and the overall architectural structure. The State Capitol, designed by William Strickland, is one of the finest examples of Greek Revival architecture and is one of eleven state capitols in the United States that does not have a dome. The “Tennessee State Capitol” was designated a National Historic District and included on the National Register of Historic Places.

Travelers Rest Plantation & Museum

“Travelers Rest” is a historic plantation in Nashville. The plantation house was originally built in 1799 for the judge John Overton. Overton first named it “Golgotha” as numerous skulls were found on the property when construction began. In the early 19th century, he finally renamed it “Travelers Rest”, since people passing by could rest in this house. The old plantation was extensively restored in 1954 and opened as a museum. Today in this historic house museum you can find exhibitions on the life and work of John Overton as well as the history of the “Overton Plantation” and Nashville during the civil war. The Greek Revival style house was also listed on the National Register of Historic Places.