Oregon is a US state whose coast was discovered by James Cook. The issue of the black residents plays an important role.

Oregon in the northwestern United States

Oregon is the 33rd state in the United States of America. It was accepted into the confederation in 1859 and is the state with the ninth largest area. Oregon is located on the US northwest coast. With around 3.8 million residents, it is not one of the most densely populated countries. The main cities are in the northwestern part of the state. Salem is the capital of Oregon, and the most populous city is Portland.

Oregon’s Origins and Discovery

In the early days, various Indian tribes such as the Chinook, Klamath and Bannock lived in Oregon. Nowadays the area is only inhabited by nine tribes that have been recognized by the federal government. In 1778 the famous English navigator James Cook discovered the Oregon coast. On their expedition, Meriweather Lewis and William Clark discovered that Oregon was a lucrative location for the fur trade because of the large populations of beavers and mink. In 1811 a trading post for the pelt company Pacific Fur Company was established, but this did not last long. A year later it lost its base to the British.

Oregon’s admission to the Confederation

The British Hudson’s Bay Company ruled the economy in the 1820s and 30s. The number of settlers in Oregon increased in the 1940s. The United States and Britain have had border disputes for an extended period of time. The American part of the state was consolidated into the Oregon Territory in 1848. Eleven years later she was accepted into the USA. The subject of slavery was controversial from many sides. Ultimately, there was a vote in which the people of Oregon spoke out clearly against slavery in that state. Free blacks, on the other hand, were also not allowed to reside in Oregon. In 1850 the American Congress stripped the land rights of the Indians west of the Cascade Range. This resulted in the Rogue River Wars between Indians and settlers. In the late 19th century, the railway lines provided an industrial boom. The expansion took place during the Second World War with the construction of the Bonneville Dam.

Oregon State Bird and Flower

Largest Counties in Oregon by Area

According to Countryaah, the biggest counties in Oregon are listed as below:

Ranking County Area
1 Harney County 26,250 km2
2 Malheur County 25,610 km2
3 Lake County 20,565 km2
4 Klamath County 15,397 km2
5 Douglas County 13,046 km2
6 Lane County 11,795 km2
7 Grant County 11,730 km2
8 Umatilla County 8,327 km2
9 Wallowa County 8,146 km2
10 Baker County 7,946 km2
11 Deschutes County 7,817 km2
12 Crook County 7,718 km2
13 Jackson County 7,213 km2
14 Wasco County 6,167 km2
15 Linn County 5,934 km2
16 Union County 5,276 km2
17 Morrow County 5,265 km2
18 Clackamas County 4,838 km2
19 Jefferson County 4,613 km2
20 Wheeler County 4,442 km2
21 Josephine County 4,248 km2
22 Curry County 4,214 km2
23 Coos County 4,144 km2
24 Gilliam County 3,118 km2
25 Marion County 3,069 km2
26 Tillamook County 2,854 km2
27 Lincoln County 2,538 km2
28 Clatsop County 2,142 km2
29 Sherman County 2,132 km2
30 Polk County 1,919 km2
31 Washington County 1,875 km2
32 Yamhill County 1,854 km2
33 Benton County 1,751 km2
34 Columbia County 1,702 km2
35 Hood River County 1,352 km2
36 Multnomah County 1,127 km2