North Carolina is on the east coast of the United States and is home to 10.3 million people. Neighboring states are Virginia, Tennessee and South Carolina.

About 10.3 million people live in the eastern US coastal state of North Carolina. North Carolina covers an area of approximately 139,000 kmĀ². The capital of the so-called Old North State is Raleigh with around 470,000 residents. North Carolina’s neighboring states are Virginia, Tennessee, and South Carolina.

North Carolina – Native to First Settlement

North Carolina was one of the so-called Thirteen Colonies, the founding states of today’s USA. The first English outpost in the region can be dated back to 1585. At that time, the historical Mississippi culture was coming to an end, instead mainly Cherokee and tribes such as the Roanoke, Machapunga, Chowanoke, Cheraw, Waxhaw and the Saponi (and many others) lived here. First settlement efforts by the English went back to Sir Walter Raleigh in 1584, who acted on behalf of Queen Elizabeth I. From 1710, the new Carolina colony split up due to political differences in North and South Carolina. North Carolina is also the first state to call on its delegates to declare independence from Great Britain.

North Carolina before and after the Civil War

In the 19th century in particular, the slave trade flourished and North Carolina became a major exporter of cotton and tobacco. In 1861 North Carolina joined the Confederation in the American Civil War. In 1868 North Carolina became part of the United States again in the context of the so-called Reconstruction, and the new constitution banned slavery from then on. North Carolina is still the largest tobacco producer among the US states, and agriculture shapes the economy of the coastal state.

The main cities of North Carolina

Charlotte is the largest city in North Carolina – around 870,000 people live here, and the metropolitan region has over 2.5 million. This is followed by the capital Raleigh (named after Sir Walter Raleigh), Greensboro (about 290,000 residents) and Durham (about 275,000 residents). The Great Smoky Mountains National Park, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is considered to be the region’s largest national park.

Piedmont North Carolina

The Piedmont Region is located in the heart of North Carolina and stretches from the foot of the Appalachian Mountains to the coast in the east. It is characterized by rolling, rolling farmland and fast growing and diverse cities. This region can be divided into the Piedmont Highlands, the highlands, and the Piedmont Lowlands, the lowlands. The Piedmont is known for its excellent golf courses, traditional southern charm and world-class barbecue. The fact that the Piedmont region is one of the most popular destinations is probably due to the extremely idyllic and peaceful atmosphere.

The mountainous region of North Carolina

The mountain region in western North Carolina is characterized by the imposing backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains and Great Smoky Mountains. As part of the Appalachian Mountains, the mountain range is a popular recreational area. Great Smoky Mountain National Park, Blue Ridge Parkway, and bustling cities like Asheville and Boone await the visitor. The mountainous region of North Carolina is almost made for nature lovers. As diverse as the local flora and fauna are, so are the activities. Of course, hiking and winter sports come first. Because nowhere else in North Carolina does one have such a dreamlike setting.

The North Carolina coastal region

The coastal region extends over two thirds of the state and is considered to be one of the most beautiful landscapes in North Carolina. The Outer Banks and the Crystal Coast await their visitors with endless secluded sandy beaches, in Kitty Hawk you can experience aviation history and of course you shouldn’t miss the historic coastal town of Wilmington with its booming film industry and beautiful New Bern. The coastal region not only has sun and sand to offer, but also a lot of seas.

North Carolina State Bird and Flower

Largest Counties in North Carolina by Area

According to Countryaah, the biggest counties in North Carolina are listed as below:

Ranking County Area
1 Dare County 4,046 km2
2 Hyde County 3,688 km2
3 Carteret County 3,473 km2
4 Beaufort County 2,484 km2
5 Columbus County 2,471 km2
6 Robeson County 2,463 km2
7 Sampson County 2,453 km2
8 Pender County 2,416 km2
9 Onslow County 2,354 km2
10 Bladen County 2,297 km2
11 Brunswick County 2,227 km2
12 Wake County 2,220 km2
13 Duplin County 2,121 km2
14 Johnston County 2,062 km2
15 Randolph County 2,046 km2
16 Craven County 2,005 km2
17 Wilkes County 1,968 km2
18 Bertie County 1,919 km2
19 Halifax County 1,893 km2
20 Chatham County 1,836 km2
21 Moore County 1,829 km2
22 Buncombe County 1,709 km2
23 Cumberland County 1,704 km2
24 Guilford County 1,704 km2
25 Pitt County 1,696 km2
26 Union County 1,658 km2
27 Harnett County 1,557 km2
28 Tyrrell County 1,554 km2
29 Iredell County 1,546 km2
30 Rockingham County 1,481 km2
31 Davidson County 1,469 km2
32 Pamlico County 1,466 km2
33 Rutherford County 1,466 km2
34 Wayne County 1,443 km2
35 Haywood County 1,437 km2
36 Northampton County 1,427 km2
37 Mecklenburg County 1,414 km2
38 Nash County 1,406 km2
39 Swain County 1,401 km2
40 Surry County 1,393 km2
41 Anson County 1,391 km2
42 Granville County 1,391 km2
43 Currituck County 1,362 km2
44 Rowan County 1,357 km2
45 Macon County 1,344 km2
46 Burke County 1,334 km2
47 Edgecombe County 1,313 km2
48 Montgomery County 1,300 km2
49 Cherokee County 1,287 km2
50 Franklin County 1,282 km2
51 Jackson County 1,279 km2
52 Richmond County 1,243 km2
53 Caldwell County 1,228 km2
54 Jones County 1,225 km2
55 Cleveland County 1,215 km2
56 Martin County 1,194 km2
57 Stokes County 1,181 km2
58 Madison County 1,171 km2
59 McDowell County 1,155 km2
60 Warren County 1,150 km2
61 Alamance County 1,127 km2
62 Caswell County 1,109 km2
63 Ashe County 1,106 km2
64 Washington County 1,098 km2
65 Catawba County 1,072 km2
66 Forsyth County 1,070 km2
67 Person County 1,046 km2
68 Stanly County 1,046 km2
69 Lenoir County 1,041 km2
70 Orange County 1,039 km2
71 Hoke County 1,015 km2
72 Transylvania County 987 km2
73 Henderson County 971 km2
74 Wilson County 969 km2
75 Cabarrus County 945 km2
76 Gaston County 943 km2
77 Hertford County 932 km2
78 Gates County 896 km2
79 Yadkin County 873 km2
80 Perquimans County 852 km2
81 New Hanover County 850 km2
82 Scotland County 831 km2
83 Watauga County 811 km2
84 Yancey County 811 km2
85 Lincoln County 795 km2
86 Camden County 793 km2
87 Graham County 782 km2
88 Durham County 772 km2
89 Pasquotank County 749 km2
90 Vance County 699 km2
91 Davie County 692 km2
92 Greene County 689 km2
93 Alexander County 681 km2
94 Lee County 671 km2
95 Avery County 640 km2
96 Polk County 619 km2
97 Alleghany County 611 km2
98 Chowan County 603 km2
99 Mitchell County 575 km2
100 Clay County 572 km2