Montana, the Treasure State, is located in the northern United States. The US state, which is rich in natural resources, is home to parts of the Rocky Mountains in the west.

In the north of the United States, you can discover Montana, a US state that is home to around a million people. The geography of Montana is shaped by the Rocky Mountains, which run through the west of the state. Therefore Montana belongs to the northern “Mountain States” of the USA, the name of the state is derived from the Spanish name montaña (which in turn has its roots in Latin) and means something like “mountainous country”. Montana covers an area of almost 380,000 km². The typical nickname of the region is Treasure State (due to the many natural resources), but Big Sky Country and Land of the Shining Mountains are also common.

Montana – the story of the Treasure State

Before the European settlers, what is now Montana was settled by the North American natives – including the Crows, Cheyenne, Blackfeet, Gros Ventres and Assiniboine. In 1803 Montana was part of the so-called Louisiana Purchase, in which central land sections of today’s USA passed from France to the United States. In the middle of the 19th century, Montana flourished due to the flourishing fur trade. In the 1960s, large gold deposits were discovered locally, which led to so-called “boomtowns”. This resulted in the Montana Territory in the second half of the 19th century. Finally, at the beginning of the 20th century, the Enlarged Homestead Act influxed thousands of farmers. The economy of the northern state has always been shaped by the rich deposits of resources and natural resources – including gold, copper, precious stones, clay and gravel. Today it is mainly oil, natural gas and coal.

Montana – cities and sights

The capital of Montana is Helena in the heart of the state with around 30,000 residents. However, Helena is only the sixth largest city in Montana, while Billings comes first with around 105,000 residents. Instead of megacities, the northern state is shaped by the mountainous landscapes of the Rocky Mountains – which are prominently drawn through the 4,100 km² Glacier National Park.

Montana State Bird and Flower

Largest Counties in Montana by Area

According to Countryaah, the biggest counties in Montana are listed as below:

Ranking County Area
1 Beaverhead County 14,356 km2
2 Phillips County 13,313 km2
3 Flathead County 13,206 km2
4 Rosebud County 12,981 km2
5 Big Horn County 12,937 km2
6 Valley County 12,745 km2
7 Garfield County 12,090 km2
8 Fergus County 11,238 km2
9 Blaine County 10,945 km2
10 Chouteau County 10,290 km2
11 Custer County 9,798 km2
12 Lincoln County 9,358 km2
13 Madison County 9,290 km2
14 Lewis and Clark County 8,964 km2
15 Carter County 8,651 km2
16 Powder River County 8,539 km2
17 Glacier County 7,757 km2
18 Hill County 7,501 km2
19 Sanders County 7,154 km2
20 Cascade County 6,988 km2
21 Park County 6,879 km2
22 McCone County 6,845 km2
23 Yellowstone County 6,825 km2
24 Missoula County 6,729 km2
25 Gallatin County 6,493 km2
26 Ravalli County 6,200 km2
27 Meagher County 6,195 km2
28 Dawson County 6,146 km2
29 Roosevelt County 6,102 km2
30 Powell County 6,024 km2
31 Teton County 5,887 km2
32 Richland County 5,398 km2
33 Carbon County 5,304 km2
34 Toole County 4,949 km2
35 Judith Basin County 4,843 km2
36 Musselshell County 4,836 km2
37 Sweet Grass County 4,804 km2
38 Stillwater County 4,649 km2
39 Prairie County 4,499 km2
40 Granite County 4,475 km2
41 Sheridan County 4,343 km2
42 Jefferson County 4,292 km2
43 Petroleum County 4,284 km2
44 Pondera County 4,209 km2
45 Fallon County 4,196 km2
46 Lake County 3,869 km2
47 Liberty County 3,704 km2
48 Daniels County 3,693 km2
49 Wheatland County 3,686 km2
50 Mineral County 3,160 km2
51 Broadwater County 3,087 km2
52 Golden Valley County 3,043 km2
53 Treasure County 2,536 km2
54 Wibaux County 2,302 km2
55 Deer Lodge County 1,909 km2
56 Silver Bow County 1,860 km2