Hawaii is a chain of islands in the Pacific Ocean. The archipelago belongs to the Polynesian cultural area and is the 50th state in the United States.

Hawaii is a group of islands in the Pacific Ocean. Politically, Hawaii is part of the United States. However, Polynesian culture is ubiquitous. The capital is Honolulu – the name translated means ‘sheltered bay’. In addition to Hawaiian, the official language is English. The island nation is made up of 137 islands and atolls. Apart from the eight largest islands, only a few are inhabited. Hawaii is a very remote island group, which is why it has a unique fauna and flora. It is home to many endemic animal species and over 70 species of birds. The flora can also be classified as versatile.

Honolulu is the capital and largest city of Hawaii with a population of 974,563 (2019). There are a number of different religions on the islands, but ancestral cults also shape the image of Hawaii. For example, the polytheistic world of gods plays a role in the Hawaiian religion. Nevertheless, the majority professes Christianity – due to European and US continental influences.

The islands were probably first settled between the second and sixth centuries. A second wave of settlement took place in the 11th century. In the 19th century, Hawaii was still ruled by a king. At the beginning of the 20th century, however, a third wave of immigration began, which brought mainly Asians to the islands. So the Hawaiians became a minority. A referendum finally decided that Hawaii would annex to the United States. On August 21, 1951, the archipelago became the 50th state in the United States. The first Hawaiian governor was William F. Quinn. Nine years later, Hawaiians first took part in a US presidential election.

Hawaii State Bird and Flower

Largest Counties in Hawaii by Area

According to Countryaah, the biggest counties in Hawaii are listed as below:

Ranking County Area
1 Hawaii County 10,432 km2
2 Maui County 2,901 km2
3 Kauai County 1,611 km2
4 Honolulu County 1,546 km2
5 Kalawao County 13 km2